Medal Ingenio et Arti

DNK044 Medaljen lngenio et Arti

  • Medal was instituted by King Christian VIII on 31 August 1841.
  • Medal is awarded to writers, musicians, artists, and scientists for remarkable, continual service to Danish culture.
  • Until 1906 the medal was awarded in two classes: gold and silver. Since 3 June 1906 the medal has been awarded in gold only.
  • Medal has also been awarded with a crown.
  • There are several types of the medal, depending on the reigning monarch.
  • Type I - Christian VIII.

  • Type II - Frederick VII.

  • Type III - Christian IX.

  • Type IV - Frederick VIII.

  • Type V - Christian X.

  • Type VI - Frederick IX.

  • Type VII - Margrethe II.