The Royal Victorian Order


  • Order founded by Queen Victoria on 21 April 1896.
  • Order awarded for distinguished personal service provided to the Sovereign or other members of the Royal Family.
  • Order awarded in five grades: Knight or Dame Grand Cross - GCVO, Knight Commander - KCVO og Dame Commander - DCVO, Commander - CVO, Lieutenant - LVO and Member - MVO. Prior to 1984, the grades of Lieutenant and Member were classified as Members (fourth class) and Members (fifth class), respectively, but both with the post-nominals MVO. On 31 December 1984, Queen Elizabeth II declared that those in the grade of Member (fourth class) would henceforth be Lieutenants with the post-nominals LVO.
  • Collar was introduced in 1912. It is worn by Knights and Dames Grand Cross on formal occasions along with a mantle.

Orders of Knighthood