Order of Merit


  • Order founded by King Edward VII on 26 June 1902.
  • Order awarded to citizens of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth for distinguished service in the armed forces, science, art, literature, or for the promotion of culture.
  • Order awarded in two divisions: civil and military.
  • There are four variations of the cross that differ in the reverse inscription according to the reigning monarch of the period.
  • Members are entitled to use the post-nominal letters OM.

Orders of Knighthood