Order of Leopold

GLD000  Leopold-Orden

  • Order was instituted by Prince Leopold IV on 24 July 1906.
  • Initially, the Order was awarded in two classes: Order with and without crown. With changes on 29 February 1908 the order divided into three classes: Order without crown (on the ribbon), Order with crown (breast cross) and Cross of the Order. On 30 May 1910, the statutes were changed again and the Order divided into six classes: Chain of the Order, Grand Cross (I class), Order with crown (II class), Order on neck ribbon (III Class), Cross of the Order with the crown and Cross of the Order plus Gold Merit Medal.
  • Order has three types: without enameled arms (1906-1910), with emameled arms (1910-1916) and with swallow in the medallion (1916-1918).
  • Leopold IV - was the final sovereign of the Principality of Lippe.

Principality of Lippe-Detmold