National Order of Merit

PRY001  Orden Nacional del Merito

  • Order was instituted on 8 April 1865. The Order was revised two times: on 23 June 1939 and on 7 September 1956.
  • Order is awarded to nationals or foreigners for military and civil services rendered to the country.
  • Order is awarded in seven grades: Collar, Extraordinary Grand Cross, Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer and Knight.
  • There are two types of insignia, with reverse inscription "1939" and "1865".
  • There are two variations of insignia, with Francisco Solano L√≥pez and with lion head.