Order Of Ludwig

GHD000 Ludwigsorden

  • Order was instituted by Grand Duke Ludwig I on 25 August 1807 as Order of Merit. In 1831, the Order was renamed the Order of Ludwig and received new statute.
  • Order was awarded in five classes: Grand Cross, I Class Commander, II Class Commander, I Class Knight, and II Class Knight. In 1853, the Gold and Silver Medals were added. In 1912, instead of a Knight's Cross I and II Class, the Honor Cross and the Knight's Cross were added.

Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt