Order of Berthold the First

GBN004  Orden Berthold des Ersten

  • Order was instituted by Grand Duke Frederick I of Baden on 29 April 1877 as a special class of Order of the Zähringer Lion and later, on 9 September 1896, Order became an independent.
  • Order was awarded for faithful service, and as a sign of special recognition.
  • Order was awarded in IV classes: Grand Cross, Commander I Class, Commander II Class and Knight.
  • Order was awarded in Civil and Military Divisions.
  • Berthold - founder of the Zähringen dynasty.

Grand Duchy of Baden