Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany

Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

  • Order instituted on 7 September 1951.
  • Order awarded for achievements that served the rebuilding of the country in the fields of political, socio-economic and intellectual activity, and is intended to mean an award of all those whose work contributes to the peaceful rise of the Federal Republic of Germany.
  • Order comprises four groups with in total eight classes: Grand Cross Special Class, Grand Cross 1st Class, Grand Cross 2nd Class, Grand Officer's Cross, Commander's Cross, Officer's Cross, Knight's Cross and Merit Medal.



Federal Republic of Germany