National Order of the Leopard

Ordre national du Léopard

  • Order instituted on 24 May 1966 in the ordonnance-law n° 66-329. The name of the country was changed to the Republic of Zaire in October 1971. The order was amended by law n° 77-002 of 22 February 1977. The enamel on the center of the obverse and on five of the star points and the ribbon color exchange green for blue.
  • Order awarded for high military or civil merits rendered to the Republic.
  • Order have five classes.
  • Order have two divisions: military (swords suspension) and civilian (five-pointed star suspension).



Republic of Zaire