Battle of Gerona Cross

Cruz de Distinción de Gerona

  • Cross instituted on 14 September 1810.
  • Cross awarded to participants of the Battle of Gerona in 1809.
  • Third Siege of Gerona - battle between a French and Westphalian troops, commanded by General Laurent de Gouvion Saint-Cyr during much of the siege, before Marshal Pierre Augereau took command on 12 October besieged the town, which held out under General Mariano Alvarez de Castro, in command of some 5,600 regular troops and militiamen.



Peninsular war awards